01993 777850 contactus@saua.co.uk

On 17 July 2019 the World Health Organisation declared the Ebola outbreak to be a Public Health Emergency of International Concern (PHEIC) as new cases continue to be reported across the affected areas.

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office (FCO) have as a result changed their travel advise with the following now being advised “against all travel to:

  • the provinces of Kasaï, Kasaï Central, Kasaï Oriental, Haut-Uele, Haut Lomami, Ituri, North Kivu (except the city of Goma – see below), South Kivu (except the city of Bukavu – see below), Maniema and Tanganyika in eastern DRC
  • areas to the west and east of Kananga, including Tshikapa and Mwene-Ditu (as shown on the map)
  • within 50km of the border with the Central African Republic and South Sudan.

In addition the FCO advises against all but essential travel to:

  •  the city of Goma in North Kivu province
  • the city of Bukavu in South Kivu province
  • the districts of N’djili and Kimbanseke in Kinshasa, both of which are south of the main access road to N’djili airport (located in Nsele district).